Microbial Eukaryotes

Eukaryotic organisms are those which have well defined nucleus and important part of one of the three domains of life. Well defined nucleus means, it will consists of four specific structural components such as nuclear membrane, nucleolus, nucleoplasm and chromatin fibre those are lack in prokaryotes. Prokaryotic nucleus is not well defined, have lack of nucleolus and nuclear membrane. Eukaryotes are also called true cell. Fungi, algae, plant and animal are the visible example of eukaryotic organisms. But this is not all; more than 70 lineages belong to the group eukaryotes. Microbial eukaryotes are considered as the significant part of human gut microbiome.  

Microbial eukaryotes are diverse in group such as
  • algae, Protozoa, fungi and slime molds        
  • algae and Protozoa collectively known as protists
  • algae and fungi have cell walls (Protozoa do not)    

Written by:
Md. Rayhan Mahmud
Masters student, Department of Ecology and Population Genetics
University of Oulu, Finland
M.Sc. in Microbiology, Jagannath University, Bangladesh

No comments

Theme images by Jason Morrow. Powered by Blogger.